2017-Happy New Year

Well hello my dear readers,

From what I heard and what I experienced 2016 was rough.  Every year has good spots, but sometimes the good spots are out weighed by the bad spots.  I know the community in which I live suffered many bad spots, between heroin over doses, senseless shootings, and most recently a senseless act of domestic abuse which left several children without a mother.  I also feel we became a nation more divided than ever before, my ask is that in 2017 you love on people even if they are different–life is too short to be anything but kind.

I’m thankful 2016 is our rear view mirrors and I am happy to usher in a new year filled with so much hope and promise.  I feel like a child getting ready to embark on her first day of school.  I am eager to see what this year has in store for my family, my friends and myself, but I am also eager to help make this year the best one yet.  It’s no secret I like to write, it’s no secret I don’t take the time to write–my hopes are that this year I can finally concentrate on that.  If my words make a difference to even one person it will be worth it .  I finally upgraded my technology a bit (Thanks to the generosity of my family) so writing is a little more convenient than in the past.

I believe I’ve mentioned it in the past, but I am not sure how deep I went into it–but in the end of 2015 I started to go back to church with my mom.  We’ve dived in pretty deeply into our faith walk and it just keeps getting better all the time.  I am so excited– my mom and I each have a copy of “Daily Wisdom for Women 2017 Devotional Collection” .  I think with each of us reading the good word everyday it will create a lot of conversation and really aid us to go further in our faith walk.  I also want to incorporate it into my blog.

I have a lot of things I want to do in this New Year, I still haven’t decided on a resolution–  I just want to be kinder, more companionate, and really just a better person.  I won’t resolute to that though, because my goal is always to be better than the person I was yesterday.  It costs nothing to be a decent human being, it costs nothing to lend an ear.  I obviously want to get healthier, not only for myself but my family.  I am still trying to climb the ladder at work so I do have professional goals set.  I do want to cook more, and bake more…  If you are local watch out, more baking means I might need to share the sweets I make with someone.  Yesterday I made a Hot Milk Sponge Cake, the recipe is one from the Great Depression– it’s an easy recipe most people have everything on hand and let me tell you it was pretty good (my dear husband enjoyed it).

Yesterday in the early evening we lit our Bayberry candle, it is believed that you should light a Bayberry candle either on Christmas Eve or New Years Eve, and allow it to completely burn out on it’s own (It’s 8:27 am here and ours is still burning).  “Bayberry candles burned to the socket, bring health to the home and wealth to the pocket”.  It’s a tradition I started with my family in 2015, and this year I shared it with my grandparents, and Aunt and Uncle.  It’s just a fun little tradition, and it leaves your home smelling so nice.

I hope you all are creating your own traditions, and spending time with your loved ones.  Life is precious, and it can be gone in a second.  Hug those you love a few extra seconds, and share a few extra laughs.  Forgive.  If you have someone in your life who struggles with forgiveness–pray for them, because once we learn the art of forgiveness our life becomes so much richer.

I really want to end this post on a positive note, but before I do there is something I am compelled to write about briefly and you may see posts about from time to time–if you are a victim of domestic abuse, it is not your fault.  You are a beautiful creature that God created, God doesn’t not want you to suffer.  Break free.  Walk away. Get help. Confide in a friend.  Don’t stay.  Don’t think it will get better.  Don’t think your partner will change.  Don’t think someone has it worse. Don’t think this is normal.  Don’t let your children think it’s normal.  It’s not normal.  Domestic Abuse IS NOT NORMAL.  If you have someone confide in you that is being abused, help be their voice, listen, be their rock, help get them out of their situation.   To the person being abused you are worthwhile, you are important, you are worthy of love, you are more than a statistic, your family and friends don’t want to have had a friend/family member they want to have a friend/family member.

May you all find peace and kindness in your heart this year.  May you all be there for someone and may someone be there for you.  God Bless you all.

Xoxo,

Jackie

Leave a Reply

